Nevada's governor has signed a law that mandates Nevada employers to give workers leave time if they, anyone in their family or in their home are victims of domestic violence. The law will go into effect at the beginning of 2018.
This is an amendment to current state law that requires employers to make certain reasonable accommodations for employees suffering domestic violence and prohibits them from discriminating against them for that reason.
Employees who have worked for a business for at least 90 days will be able to take as much as 160 hours of paid or unpaid leave within a year of the first incident of domestic violence. It's deducted from the time they're allowed off under the Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA). The employer is entitled to require evidence such as legal documentation or documentation of injuries from a physician.
Acts of domestic violence recognized under the law include assault, arson, stalking, killing or injuring an animal, trespassing, sexual assault and destruction of property. The acts must have been committed by a current or former spouse, a current or former boyfriend or girlfriend, anyone else related to the victim by marriage or blood or someone who has or currently resides with them.
The last thing that a victim of domestic violence should have to worry about is losing his or her job. Too many victims stay with their abusers or someone who is abusing their child because they don't have the means to support themselves or their family. Being able to stay in their job can be key to establishing a new, safer life.
An experienced Nevada attorney can help you get the protection orders you need and take other steps to help keep you and your family safe. He or she can likely also advise you on how best to deal with your employer to get the support, protection and time off you need.
Source: hr360.com, "Nevada Enacts Domestic Violence Leave Law," accessed Aug. 7, 2017